top of page

We are Bishopston Community Council

Bishopston is large village and community situated on the Gower Peninsula, 6 miles (9.7 km) west south west of the centre of Swansea in South Wales.

We are partly within the Gower Peninsula Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB).

The Bishopston electoral ward consists of part or all of the following areas: Barland Common, Caswell, Clyne Common, Bishopston , Manselfield, Murton and Oldway in the parliamentary constituency of Gower.

Bishopston is bounded by the Bristol Channel to the south; and the wards of: Pennard  to the west; Fairwood  to the north; and Mayals, West Cross and Newton to the east.

Bishopston Community Council is an elected body of volunteer members established to help manage the services in the local community. As a community council, we operate within a clear set of guidelines as set out in LGA 1972 and in other legislation.

Among the services and amenities we help manage are the community centre, playing fields and open spaces, benches, shelters, street lighting and footpaths.


Under the Local Government Act 2000, we have power to act in the best interests of the community in order to promote or improve the economic well-being, social well-being or environmental well-being of the area.​

Community councillors are elected by the local government electors for the community and hold office for a term of 4 years. The chair is elected annually by the council from among the councillors.

Accordingly, the Local Authorities (Model Code of Conduct) (Wales) Order 2008 provides a model code as regards the conduct which is expected of members of community councils.

bottom of page